A new bedtime story! Review & Giveaway

Reading to your children is so very important. Did you know that reading out loud to or with your children will increase their ability to recognize all the letters in the alphabet, write their name, and count to 20? You can see even more cool facts about reading here.

We love reading at our house! Kallen is getting to a point where he really enjoys the actual story, and not just looking at the pictures in a book. He has his favorite books, and is starting to memorize pages and loves “reading” them to us as well. During the day, I often find him in his room reading to himself or his toys and it is so sweet.

We have always made reading a part of his bedtime routine, and we are now starting that with Cora too. Most nights, my husband puts Kallen to bed, but on the nights I get to do it, I love reading with him.

So you can bet we were very excited to add a new book to our collection. “I’m Gonna Give You a Bear Hug” is seriously one of the cutest books I have seen!

The author, Caroline B. Cooney, has written 90 novels and she is a best selling author in the young adult genres. This is her first children’s book and it is based of off verses she wrote when her own children were young. I think that is so sweet! And how amazing of her to share those words, so families like ours can make memories with this book.
I am such a mom, and love sweet and sappy books like this one. As I was reading to Kal and Cora for the first time, I even found myself tearing up over some of the words. My favorite phrase was this one

I’m going to give you a bear hug

A gasp for air, 

All you dare, 

Anything that’s fair hug.

If that doesn’t perfectly describe a mothers hug! And this book is full of many more phrases just like that. Lots that will make you giggle too!

The illustrations are just too adorable.  Kallen kept pointing to the child and saying “hey mom its me!” Its always more fun when your kids relate to the characters in the story.

He also loved identifying all of the different animals. Just recently, he has started carrying a little stuffed lamb around with him, so Kallen really liked this page with the sheep and kept asking to go back to it.

Cora kept trying to grab the pages and eat them, so I’d say she liked it too 😉
This book has become one of our favorites, and I for see it being on the bedtime list for many nights to come.

What stories do you like to read? 

One thought on “A new bedtime story! Review & Giveaway

  1. Brandy says:

    Blair loves the book “tip toe joe” it is about a bear taking all of his woodland friends to see his new baby bears. Super cute

    Like

Leave a Reply

