Smoothie Pops

Many mornings for breakfast, I make a “smooshie” (smoothie, in toddler talk). Its a favorite #momhack of mine. I can get a good amount of calories and a couple servings of fruits and veggies. Plus, its portable and can go with me on any adventures we have, or just to my favorite seat on the couch. Β Another great thing, my kids LOVE them. I’ve totally been sneaking veggies into my toddlers diet using them, because he is ultra picky right now.

20170606_141152

 

I swear, I do have a point to all these ramblings about my breakfast….As summer approaches and it gets warmer, I have been trying to think of good frozen treats I can have stocked in my freezer. I know traditional popsicles are readily available and easy, and i’m sure we will consume our fair share, but if I can break it up with some treats with a little less sugar and additives, Ill call it a win. They also make amazing teething treats, for my baby. Who is cutting 4 teeth right now…popsicles everyday for that girl.

If you’re anything like me, those darn items by the checkout always get you. So when I found this little popsicle tray at walmart for a whopping .98, I had to buy it. And I decided to turn my favorite smoothie recipe, into a frozen treat for my family.

IMG_3110

 

It’s super easy, only a few ingredients and a few seconds in the blender. I like using frozen fruit, but you could easily use fresh and add ice. This is the recipe I use:

1.5 cups almond milk (could use any other milk, I use breastmilk for the baby)

1 cup frozen fruit ( i used strawberries this day)

1 banana or 1/2 avocado (makes it creamy)

.5 cup plain yogurt

Add all the ingredients to your blender, and blend until smooth.

You can drink it as is, or fill molds to freeze for later.

IMG_3109

Hope you enjoy this yummy treat!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

